Types of Digital Signature Certificates in India

Types of Digital Signature Certificates in India

The MCA has made available a brand-new web form to find out how prepared businesses are to fight the Covid-19 pandemic. The government also stated that it is a straightforward web form with few required fields that can be submitted from any location without the need for a Digital Signature Certificate (DSC) or payment.

What is the DSC?

The digital key that the certifying authority issues is known as the Digital Signature Certificate (DSC). It is used to digitally verify and certify a person’s identity. It can be used to digitally sign any document.

In addition, a person’s name, pin code, country, email address, digital signature, and the name of the authority issuing the document are all included in the DSC. The Ministry of Corporate Affairs is also in charge of the approval, issuance, and discrepancy of the digital signature certificate.

Who Can Use the Certificate for Digital Signature?

Various government agencies and business organizations use the Digital Signature. In addition, it is now required by law in a number of applications. Individuals, individuals from other countries, and organizations can all use the DSC to obtain certification.

What are the three kinds of certificates with digital signatures?

Certificates can be divided into three categories:

Any document’s authenticity is confirmed by signing it using the DSC. It assures the recipient that the data mentioned in the document have not been altered. The DSC sign can also be used to sign PDF files, ITR returns, deal approvals, and other websites.

Encrypted First, confidential data and documents can use DSC encryption. Additionally, essential and confidential data ought to be safeguarded. Therefore, if these documents are to be sent, it is of the utmost importance to send them using an encrypting DSC.

Sign and Encrypt: This combination of sign and encrypt is another kind of DSC. It can be used in conjunction with the documents, which ought to be genuine and confidential at the same time. These certificates can frequently be used to complete important documents or government applications.

What are the three DSC classes?

The Digital Signature Certificate can be distributed to the user based on its usage. The user receives a digitally signed certificate based on how they use the certificate. Users can receive any one of the following kinds of certificates from the certifying authorities:

Class 1 certificates can be given to private individuals or groups. This certificate shows that the user name and other information about the person are in the certifying authority’s database. Additionally, freelancers frequently subscribe to this kind of certificate.

Class 2 certificates The signatory or director of a registered company receives a Class 2 certificate so that they can electronically fill out forms for the Registrar of Companies (ROC). Individual personalities are required to have a class 2 certificate and frequently have to manually sign documents when completing their ROC returns. Therefore, the class 2 certificate can also be used for the following purposes:

Class 3 certificates are required for vendors who wish to participate in an e-auction or another tender bidding process. MCA e-filing, LLP registration, GST registration, IEC code registration, and Form 16 income tax filing are all examples of class 3 certificates. When they enter the e-bidding or auctioning process, it is helpful to verify their information and data.

Procedure for Digital Signature Certificate Online

At first, applying for a digital signature registration online saves time and only requires a few clicks. Therefore, proceed with the DSC application procedure.

Step 1: Find a certifying authority authorized to issue DSC by logging in and searching for your kind of business. Find the kind of organization for which you want a DSC by searching for it on a reputable website.

Step 2: Fill in the necessary information First, download and print the form. Therefore, carefully complete the form’s information. As a result, the following information is required for the form:

The applicant’s name and other personal information, as well as the applicant’s GST number and identity details Documents to prove the applicant’s identity Declaration Payment details Most importantly, the applicant’s most recent photograph and signature must be included underneath the declaration.

Step 3: Identity and address verification The above documents should then be sent to the correct Local Registration Authority (LRA) address and signed by an attesting officer.

Consequently, the DSC will issue the documents to the applicant following verification.

In conclusion, it is essential to keep in mind that the DSC is only valid for a maximum of two years. After the certificate’s expiration date, it must be renewed. Therefore, it is absolutely necessary for holders of DSC certificates to use them only for official purposes.

Read more,

Comparison of Electronic Signatures and Digital Signatures


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.